When in Prague!

Prague, Czech Republic was one of those cities that you don’t expect it to be as charming as it is. Not many people think of going to the Czech Republic and be completely blown away by it’s beauty and charm.  I was one of those people.

It was one of the most beautiful towns I have seen. There was a grayness that floated over the city. It was one of my favorite parts actually.  All the architecture, the streets, even the food took me by surprise.

This small city was absolutely breathtaking.

The first day we arrived in Prague, to our luck, there was an Easter festival going on. Vendors lined the Old Town Square (Main part of Prague) and sold things such as food, Easter gifts, other novelties, and of course, Czech beer.

Our first thing we tried was a Trdlo (pronounced exactly how it looks) and it was a mistake because it was one of the best things that I have tried.

It was a sweet bread roasted with almonds and sugar.  I not only had one, but I had three.

Traveling to all these different cities, I find all these nice gifts for people, but what I wish I could bring home is the food.

I know my whole family would enjoy all the food that I am trying, but unfortunately they will have to let my well thought out gifts suffice.

After eating so much I could explode, we explored the city. We walked everywhere!

We saw the Jewish Quarter, the Old Town Square, St. Charles Bridge, the Prague Castle.  We learned about the history of Prague (which is old and new).

After all the walking, we went and found our hostel.  This being one of out last trips, you would think I would do enough research on a town to know where to get a hostel at, but I guess not.

The hostel that we were staying in was close to the Prague castle and up one of the biggest hills in Prague. Go Olivia for choosing this one.

We had walked around the whole city with our backpacks on all day and now we had to finish it by dragging ourselves up this giant hill.

We made it though.

After resting for a bit, we decided it was time to indulge in some of the Czech night life.

Our first stop was a pub called “The Pub” and it was one of the most unique bars I have been too.

At your table you had your own beer tap.  It was a beer lovers heaven.

After we had a few beers, we went to a lounge called “Bed Lounge” (Not even kidding about these names).

In the lounge they just had beds and your bartender brought you the drinks.  It was one of my favorite places I have been! Such a fun experience.

The next day, our last day sadly, we explored the Prague Castle. The views from the top are indescribable. You can see the whole city surrounding you.

We spent the rest of the afternoon at the Easter market. Trying all the food and drinks we could before we had to leave. It was a short trip, but the memories and experiences were nothing less than great.

It was especially sad to leave Prague because it was Sophia’s, Emily’s and mine’s last trip together. It is hard to comprehend leaving Europe.  It really is the definition of bittersweet.

One thought on “When in Prague!

Leave a Reply

