Last Month in Leiden

Today I have officially been here four months, and in a short 9 days I leave. Time is dwindling down and I find myself experiencing the lasts of many things.

Coming here I never would have thought my life would change as much as it did. It is hard to comprehend all the life changing things I have experienced. And lucky for me, I still have one more trip.

The past month I have done so much and time continues to go by so fast. It amazes me how fast time travels.

The past month has been crazy, and I have done so much in such a short amount of time.

I went to a dutch Easter service, I saw the tulips at Keukenhof Tulip Gardens, and I experienced my first Kings Day (an experience I will never forget).

King’s Day was the longest day ever. The weekend felt like a blur, and that wasn’t from the alcohol, I promise.

We went to Amsterdam on King’s Night. We did the Heineken Experience and walked the streets of Amsterdam being a tourist one last time.

That night we experienced Leiden during King’s weekend. They had live music on the canal and people everywhere.

The next day was even more amazing. We started pretty early. We had the whole day to go crazy, so we wanted to take advantage of every hour.  We walked around Leiden for a while listening to all the music and seeing a sea of orange all around.

We then had a BBQ. It felt so much like home! Kind of similar to celebrating Fourth of July. We grilled food and enjoyed the company of good friends. Probably ate and drank way too much, but that was the fun of it.

After a nice nap, we had to continue the fun. It was safe to say I was a zombie. Laying in my bed at the end of the night, or beginning of the morning, had never felt so good.

The days leading up to now we have just been enjoying Leiden. Eating our favorite foods, going to our favorite places, and just spending time with the family I have created here. I justify eating so much food with the fact I am leaving.

I never thought I would come here and meet the amazing people I have. I have made friends that I know will be in my life forever.

The fact I have to say goodbye to this place soon breaks my heart. This place is home now and everything has become so familiar. I think the biggest fear I have from leaving is wondering whether or not I’ll ever experience something so wonderful again.

It will be weird going back to St. Louis and having to become familiar with everything again. Coming here, everything was so unfamiliar and now I feel at home.

I still have 9 more days left in Europe and everyday I am going to cherish and hold onto for as long as I can.

Leave a Reply

